Out of stock

Release Date

March 24, 2009

Product Code SAND446

Included in this deluxe package CD reissue are 7 bonus tracks, including rare b-sides and live performances from Sunbury 1973 and Garrison.

Released in 1973, Stillpoint remains one of the most innovative and enduring progressive albums of the period.

The two hit singles released from the album: “Goodbye Lollipop” (the first ever release on the maverick Mushroom label) and “12-lb Toothbrush” (the monster crowd favourite, with its distinctive “na na na nanana na” vocal hook) were balanced by the longer, psychedelic blues of album tracks like “Salmon Song” and “Listen To The Morning Sunshine”.

Recorded in just six days, Stillpoint highlights Madder Lake’s distinctive sound which was mostly due to the combination of Fettes unique (often effects laden) vocals, Mason’s understated blues-tinged guitar playing, the sparse yet effective use of McKinnon’s keyboards and the agile drive of the rhythm section.

In addition to the vocal effects the band used fuzz bass and a bass pedal which is easily mistaken for a synthesizer, while Mason’s subtle use of wah wah to produce shimmering explosions of sound gives the album an almost otherworldly quality.

Included in this deluxe package are 7 bonus tracks, including rare b-sides and live performances from Sunbury 1973 and Garrison. BUTTERFLY FARM: The follow-up to the acclaimed debut: Stillpoint was to be Madder Lake’s last album – an all too brief run for one of our best bands of the Seventies. Includes four bonus tracks: ‘Lizards’ live from Sunbury, ‘Rodney’s Birthday’ live at Garrison and two non-LP single A-sides: ‘It’s All In Your Head’ and ‘I Get High’ (their super rare final single from 1976 after Mick Fettes had left the band).

Track Listing (STILLPOINT)

  1. Salmon Song
  2. On My Way to Heaven
  3. Helper
  4. Listen to the Morning Sunshine
  5. Goodbye Lollipop
  6. Song for Little Ernest
  7. 12-Lb. Toothbrush

Bonus Tracks: Singles

  1. Bumper Bar Song
  2. 12-Lb. Toothbrush
  3. Country Blues

Bonus Tracks: Sunbury 1973

  1. Down the River
  2. 12-Lb. Toothbrush from Garrison: The Final Blow Unit 1 October 1973
  3. Bumper Bar Song
  4. When is a Mouse


Track Listing (BUTTERFLY FARM)

  1. Rodney’s Birthday
  2. Mothership
  3. Booze Blues
  4. Ride On Fast
  5. One Star And The Moon
  6. Butterfly Farm
  7. Slack Alice
  8. Back Seat Song

Bonus Tracks: Singles & Live

  1. It’s All In Your Head
  2. I Get High
  3. Rodney’s Birthday (LIVE – Garrison: The Final Blow Unit 1)
  4. Lizards (LIVE – from Highlights of Sunbury 74 )